Virgil Goode’s Letter…With a Twist

December 22, 2006 at 4:52 pm | Posted in American politics | Leave a comment

So Representative Virgil Goode stands by his bigoted remarks about Muslims elected to Congress in the United States…well, let’s give his letter a twist and see what we see:

Thank you for your recent communication. When I raise my hand to take the oath on Swearing In Day, I will have the Bible in my other hand. I do not subscribe to using the [Torah] in any way. The [Jewish] Representative from Minnesota was elected by the voters of that district and if American citizens don’t wake up and adopt the Virgil Goode position on immigration there will likely be many more [Jews] elected to office and demanding the use of the [Torah]. We need to stop illegal immigration totally and reduce legal immigration and end the diversity visas policy pushed hard by President Clinton and allowing many persons from [Israel] to come to this country. I fear that in the next century we will have many more [Jews] in the United States if we do not adopt the strict immigration policies that I believe are necessary to preserve the values and beliefs traditional to the United States of America and to prevent our resources from being swamped.

The Ten Commandments and “In God We Trust” are on the wall in my office. A [Jewish] student came by the office and asked why I did not have anything on my wall about the [Torah]. My response was clear, “As long as I have the honor of representing the citizens of the 5th District of Virginia in the United States House of Representatives, The [Torah] is not going to be on the wall of my office.” Thank you again for your email and thoughts.

Why do we despise people like Mel Gibson for his drunken rants against Jews, but treat as ho hum such comments from a Congressional Representative towards another religion? I realize that Muslims have not had their own Holocaust like the Jews have…but why do we hold one group, one religion at such a high standard, and don’t really care when another religion is treated the same?

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

