Mitt Romney Smells Great?

June 19, 2007 at 7:50 pm | Posted in American politics, conservatives, corruption, Mit Romney, Mitt Romney, Republicans, secret combinations | 7 Comments

Huh, in the New York Times article we read the following:

Mr. Romney, the former governor of Massachusetts, also looks great, sounds great and smells great, like shaving cream.

And from CNN the following:

Cho: He looks great, sounds great, smells great.

I’m sure Mitt Romney gets the latest toiletries to ensure his body odor is on the up and up, but just what the heck does that have to do with the price of tea in China?

Glenn Greenwald has more on pundits and journalists’ adoration of Republican candidates’ body odors. For example, he quotes Chris Matthews about Fred Thompson:

Does [Fred Thompson] have sex appeal? I’m looking at this guy and I’m trying to find out the new order of things, and what works for women and what doesn’t. Does this guy have some sort of thing going for him that I should notice? . . .

Gene, do you think there’s a sex appeal for this guy, this sort of mature, older man, you know? He looks sort of seasoned and in charge of himself. What is this appeal? Because I keep star quality. You were throwing the word out, shining star, Ana Marie, before I checked you on it. . . .

Can you smell the English leather on this guy, the Aqua Velva, the sort of mature man’s shaving cream, or whatever, you know, after he shaved? Do you smell that sort of — a little bit of cigar smoke? You know, whatever.

There’s that shaving cream again.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Call me shallow, but I think I’d be less inclined to vote for someone that smelled like BO. If they can’t take care of themselves, I’m less inclined to think they can take care of their constituents.

  2. Jesse,

    I’d love it if you could show me an example of a politician that smelled badly. 🙂

  3. Daniel, I’m surprised you didn’t run into some of them in Romania. I have not encountered specifically politicians in Eastern European countries with BO but plenty of seemingly self-respecting business people don’t seem to notice their BO problems. I can only assume that politicians there are similar.

  4. Ahhh, delicious smelling politicians, how could you not vote for one. http://www.dryflypolitics.com

  5. john,

    heh, yeah get on one of the buses in Bucuresti in July! I haven’t had the privilege of meeting any politician whilst I served in Romania, or on any of my other visits, so I cannot comment from experience about their body odor.

  6. […] to his conservative base? Or his incoherent-approaching-nonexistent position on the Iraq war? Or how he manages to smell so damn good? THESE are the kind of questions the electorate needs answered, […]

  7. […] Rudy McRomney may be as Rudy McRomney does, but Mitt Romney is sure livening things up on the Republican front. Unless you’re a Republican, of course, in which case you might be a little unhappy. Or not. Coz after all, he sure smells great! […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

