Will Bush Follow Musharraf’s Lead?

November 5, 2007 at 5:31 am | Posted in American politics, Bush Administration, conservatives, corruption, liberals, neo-conservatives, Republicans, secret combinations | 14 Comments

Juan Cole wonders:

If Bush and Cheney are ever tempted into extreme measures in the United States, Musharraf has provided a template for how it would unfold. Maintain you are moving against terrorists and extremists, but actually move against the rule of law. Rubin has accepted the suggested term of “lawfare” to describe this kind of warfare by executive order.

Realistically, how many conservatives would actually be upset if, say, Bush were to keep power and go around arresting liberals…

14 Comments

TrackBack URI

  1. So,your accusing conservatives of arresting those who disagree with them? Seriously?

    I thought this was your positive week.

  2. Um I guess you missed this.

  3. Yes, Dan. What one conservative says is the words of all conservatives everywhere. Way to grossly generalize. That’s not a republican tactic. Not at all.

    Isn’t it your off week?

  4. There, see, another example for ya! 😉

  5. An example for what? 😉

  6. for conservatives desiring that the military take over this country. what else would it be an example of on this thread?

  7. Your Iraq thread? That’s shameless self-promotion!


  8. Now if only we could get them to silence Daniel, but that would be too much to hope for…

    This is Knight making a joke. A dumb joke, and I don’t think this joke is funny, but he’s trying to keep it light with you. I didn’t realize Knight was still on here. I guess he enjoys sparring with you.

    I’m guessing you’re relishing the Bush administration follow Musharraf’s lead, eh hospitaller. You’d love to see liberal bloggers get beaten up and arrested by the military.

    This is Daniel not seeing that Knight made a joke. Or you do, but you choose not to see it, take his words and then accuse him of something else entirely than what he actually said? I don’t think that Knight teasing you (which is super lame) is the thoughts of all conservatives. Sorry, I just see generalization again. 😉 Is there something I’m missing here?

  9. That’s not shameless promotion when the example is there! Sheesh, I tell ya.

    I know he’s making a joke, Sherpa. And I continue further. Sheesh, you tell me to lighten up and then you can’t tell (even when I put a smiley face on my comment) the lightheartedness. Sheesh!

  10. Uh huh.

    Now we’re just bickering to bicker.

  11. Sherpa,

    If I at anytime add “sheesh” to a comment of mine, it is intended to be lighthearted and humorous. Take my comment in that light. 🙂

  12. Daniel, that was obvious. That’s why I answered with the bickering to bicker comment. That was supposed to be light-hearted too.

  13. Eh, the internet needs to find a better way to display lightheartedness. 🙂

  14. Comments to this post are also closed.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

