Was Musharraf Behind Bhutto’s Assassination Attempt?

November 7, 2007 at 12:07 am | Posted in Pakistan | 9 Comments

Last week, after Musharraf called for martial law, I wondered to myself about the assassination attempt on Bhutto, who had just come back from exile. I wondered if Musharraf might not have been the guy behind that assassination attempt. After all, who represented the greatest threat to his rule than the popular Ms. Bhutto. I didn’t want to actually say anything, because that’s a pretty hefty accusation to make without any evidence.

But now Benazir Bhutto writes in an op-ed in the New York Times about Musharraf’s martial law, and she states a most interesting thing:

In my view, General Musharraf’s ruling party understood that it would be trounced in any free elections and, together with its allies within the intelligence services, contrived to have the Constitution suspended and elections indefinitely postponed. Very conveniently, the assassination attempt against me last month that resulted in the deaths of at least 140 people is being used as the rationale to stop the democratic process by which my party would most likely have swept parliamentary elections. Maybe this explains why the government refuses to allow the F.B.I. and Scotland Yard to assist in a forensic investigation of the bombings.

She would know better than I. I wonder when he might make another attempt on her life.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Whoa Dan, alright. I guess I hit a nerve somehow. I’m sorry if you’re angry. That’s too bad, because it was fun talking to you. Oh well. Let’s agree to disagree and call that good.

  2. I guess you’ve strongarmed me into agreeing to disagreeing with you. That’s all good. I didn’t convince you, you didn’t convince me and I hope you’re not angry with me and delete this comment to. Seriously though, I’d like to know why you deleted my comments. Send me an e-mail, I don’t want you pissed at me which I think you are by deleting my comments. I was just making a point, I hope you weren’t offended by what I said.

  3. Sherpa,

    The reason I closed the comments was simply because we were just going to go round and round and round and round and round and…you get the picture. I said, “let’s agree to disagree” but you continued. So I closed the comments. Then you took it to the other post. As it was not related to the post in question, I deleted the comments. I hope you will get the message now and agree to disagree.

  4. Daniel, you continued also. I’m totally cool with agreeing to disagree, but you have to stop also. I got the message before but you also continued. Don’t blame it all on me, fool (said in a Mr. T voice.).

  5. Daniel, I only took it to the other post, because you closed that thread, and I couldn’t continue on there with the rest of my message. I honestly had no intention to continue after that and was going to proclaim a trucebecause we were bickering and contention sucks, dude. You though closed the thread and I couldn’t continue there. Anyway, it doesn’t matter that we both continued with it. Its done and there’s no sense on dwelling on it.

    Anyway, now on to Musharraf. Yeah, I’ve been following his actions for a while now, thanks to NPR. The short and long-term implications of the coup are sobering to say the least.

  6. now on to Musharraf.

    Thank you.

  7. Why, you’re welcome.

  8. Benazir Bhutto is a dirty corrupt politician pretending to be a supporter of democracy. Don’t give her words any credence.

  9. Non-Arab Arab,

    While I agree she is a corrupt politician, I can’t get over the timing of that assassination attempt. And the power of it. I mean it killed 140 some odd people. I can’t recall a suicide bomber from Islamic extremists being that powerful before in Pakistan (but maybe I’m just forgetful).


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

