Barack Obama, the 44th President of the United States of America

November 4, 2008 at 8:36 pm | Posted in American politics | 7 Comments

I’ve got nothing to lose in calling this race. Obama will become the 44th President of the United States of America. The numbers are looking good from all the results coming in. Obama wins Pennsylvania and is leading in Florida.

I am glad enough Americans voted for Obama and rejected McCain and the Republicans. I look forward to life under an Obama administration. I also look forward to finally retiring from talking politics and getting back to writing stories.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Go Obama! I’m pretty excited about the next 4 years.

  2. The Republicans probably have nothing to fear from this super liberal Obama, because the economy is so screwed up (and I’m sure it’ll continue it’s road downhill for quite some time yet) he won’t really be able to do anything but worry about that. At the end of his first term, we’ll probably be mad at him for everything that’s occurred in the intervening 4 years and we’ll all vow to put a right-thinking Republican back in office.

    I’d love to be able to hope for something better than that, but… what can I say?

  3. Mark, you are already defeated before he has started his term. This is exactly why you will remain in this state for the next eight years. Too scared to demand better and receive better for yourself. Too scared to pick yourself off the floor and reach for what you want. Too scared to hope for better. And because of your fear and doubt you refuse to accept that Obama can and will succeed. People like you should keep your negative comments to yourself. It is such a pity there is no way we can keep you from taking advantages of teh benefits and goodwill that will be ushered in with the coming Obama years.

  4. Mark,

    I appreciate that you may not like Obama, but please stop with incorrectly labeling him. He’s not a “super liberal.” He’s not an extreme leftist. He is a moderate.

    It’s ironic, conservatives hated Bill Clinton. Not because he was hardcore liberal, but because he was a centrist.

  5. I evidently expressed myself pretty badly up there. I voted for Obama. I’m thrilled he won. I’m just afraid that he’ll be so hamstrung by the recent economic events that eventually things will get bad enough that he will be, incorrectly, painted with the blame for it, and he’ll be tossed out at the end of his first term by people who are fed up with things by that point in time.

    I sincerely hope I’m wrong about all of that.

  6. Oh, and the “super liberal” label is how the Republicans have painted him, and I doubt that the hardcore Pubbies are ever going to see him as anything different, barring a miracle.

  7. Mark,

    Ah, my apologies then.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

