Eightmaps and Publicly Shaming Those Who Supported Prop 8

January 15, 2009 at 9:50 am | Posted in American politics | 3 Comments

Eightmaps is a mashup between Google Maps and Prop 8 donors (public records), in an effort to publicly shame those who supported Prop 8. Now, my own personal view was fairly neutral. If I lived in California I probably would not have voted either way for Prop 8. I don’t think it was brought up well, and I knew the backlash would have been severe. I looked over the map and in the area I used to live in California is dotted with people I know. It is very interesting to see them on a map as such. Frankly, I don’t this working in shaming these individuals. In fact, I don’t think they care, unless this map is used toward harassment. That’s the problem when you deal with religious views. Standing up for those religious views won’t shame the person who stands for them. In fact, prop 8 opponents ought to be careful not to press too hard because religionists will take the attacks as religious persecution and welcome them.

Prop 8 opponents have to come to the realization that going through the courts (and thereby going around the will of the people) is foolish. Stop doing it. Go to the people. Convince them of your case. If you can’t get it, keep trying. But don’t force your will on the general population without everybody getting a chance to decide.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I looked at those maps yesterday. I used to live in Southern California and knew many of the donors also. I was thinking if I was a gay Californian who wished to marry I would go with my partner, knock politely on each of those donor’s doors, gently introduce myself and my partner, and explain we respected their religious views but just wanted to put a human face on these “gays” they hear about and explain what it would mean to me to be able to marry and what it means to me to not have that option, then wish them a terrific day and tell them I appreciate their dedication to their view of a better society.

    I’m not sure it would change too many minds, but it would do some real good in the long run, I think, for people on both sides to talk face to face and realize that in general the “other side” is not nearly so militant or scary as we imagine.

    Anyway, that’s what I thought about when looking over the maps.

  2. I thought you retired from blogging on here.

  3. Maybe there’s a 12 step program out there for compulsive bloggers (and those who respond to the blog threads)…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

