They’ve Done It, American Oil Companies Got Iraqi Oil

November 6, 2009 at 7:54 am | Posted in American politics | 3 Comments

Because that’s what the war in Iraq was always about:

Reporting from Baghdad – The Iraqi government Thursday signed a deal with a consortium led by U.S. oil giant Exxon Mobil Corp. to develop a major oil field in southern Iraq, marking the first entry by an American-dominated group into Iraq’s oil industry since it was nationalized in 1972.

The deal coincides with a flurry of activity this week that suggests major oil companies are finally poised to return to Iraq, more than six years after the U.S.-led military invasion raised firms’ hopes of gaining access to some of the world’s largest and most underdeveloped oil reserves.

Good work America, you gave American oil companies the oil they badly wanted. The only price you had to pay was your soldiers dying… oh and a tax bill of over $1 trillion dollars sent to your children to pay. Great work. I’m sure Exxon will give you a trifle Christmas present in the mail.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I really like how you disabled comments on that Ayn Rand discussion before I could respond to you. Delicious cowardice on your part. So, because I do try to not allow cowards to keep their stolen security, I’m going to leave my reply to you here:

    I did not elaborate because all I would be doing is repeating what RnBram said on March 1st, which you refused to accept as logically valid, even though it is, and you never actually deconstructed it or pointed out any contradictions within it. This is why I was pointing out that you refuse to understand or accept the possibility of being wrong: it’s been explained to you why you were wrong, but you dismissed it without any deep thought, so I just decided not to waste either my time or yours.

    —–
    But, I assume this is all because of some deep-seeded anti-Rand bias within you, as you are not so irrational in other posts. I happen to share your sentiments with this post of yours right here. It is quite disgusting that our world allows such evils to be committed.

  2. I disabled the comments on the Rand thread because that’s an old post and I got tired of repeating the same arguments over and over. As for rnBram, I remember when he made his comment. I read it and said to myself, I’ll get back to it, and forgot all about it, never getting back to it. I know, I know, lame excuse. What can I say, I’m laissez-faire about commenting sometimes. šŸ™‚

    As for his points, it’s not the regulations that failed, but the businesses (like AIG, the main contributor to the economic collapse, and the focal point of that particular article) who found ways around the regulations which would have protected them from a fall. They actively looked for and found loopholes so they could make more money, take greater risks and thus lead to catastrophic collapse. Just like 70 years ago. Just like the whole 19th century. The regulations, if businesses would have stuck with them, would have prevented the fall, because that was their design. When businesses work against regulations, when they work to undermine regulations, when they work to get around regulations, when they work to eliminate or weaken regulations, that’s when we see major problems.

    Ayn Rand is spectacularly wrong about the way economy works. It is pathetically sad to see so many individuals fall for her crap. And it is crap. It is hypocritical crap, too. It’s ironic really. Ayn Rand’s philosophy can only be run in a totalitarian fashion; it cannot handle truly free thinking. It is rigid, inflexible, and thus a product of the very ideology she derided all her life: communism. What a pathetic joke.

    • Very well, I lack the knowledge and commitment to argue on those parts, but I find that far too many people focus specifically on the economic parts of her thinking while ignoring everything else. As for your totalitarian claim, that is simply a willful ignorance of the philosophy itself. Its core (politically) is defining human rights and using government to protect them. If rigid law enforcement is totalitarian, then you would be correct.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

